Making the unstoppable stoppable.

It’s Friday.  Good feelings are therefore emanating through my body.  2 glorious days ahead away from the desk, but this weekend is a special one because the time has come for my 10k race.  My first, quite possibly my last!  I’m not a natural runner.  I’ve spent the last 4 months trying to train though, and although I’m probably not as fit as I could be I’m a hell of a lot better than when I first started.  I know I’m not going to be fast, I know I probably won’t be able to go the whole way without the odd bit of walking to catch my breath- but I WILL do it and I am doing it because my friend is ill, currently undergoing treatment, and these funds I’m raising will go towards helping her and millions of others suffering from insatiable cancer.  Maybe the research will help make the seemingly unstoppable stoppable.

It’s difficult when you feel helpless, there’s nothing you can do to make it ok for your friends and loved ones.  So this was something I could do, albeit small.  It’s something.  And thanks to my amazing supporters I will have raised over £500 which is fantastic, way more than I expected.

On Sunday I hope I am feeling unstoppable.  I love my friend very much, running 6.2 miles won’t make her better, but if it helps fund medicine that can then it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

